Don't take our word for it - here's what the media had to say...

In a galaxy not so far away

Brendan Seery was recently in Malawi and wrote a great piece on traveling in our lovely country which featured in two South African newspapers' Travel supplements: the Sunday Star and the Weekend Argus.
In it he describes the delight of Mumbo Island, praises our Eco-mindedness and says the following:
"Mumbo Island is a special place, somewhere you need to go with someone who is special, to celebrate an event or a relationship which is special.
It’s a place you have to share with a like-minded spirit."
Full text on: In a galaxy not so far away
Or below...

More...Contact Us

Mumbo Island is the "true Africa"

In an article highlighting some of Malawi's issues with poverty, Zodwa Kumalo-Valentine of The Mail & Guardian, was heartened by her stay on Mumbo Island. Her article ended with this paragraph: "How fitting to spend the last night at an ecolodge, Mumbo Island, a sanctuary without electricity, where water has to be heated and bucketed for cowboy-style showers and meals are prepared simply, using plenty of fresh produce from the land and the lake. All thatch and timber and canvas, with lake views that draw tears to one’s eyes, the camp allows one to truly appreciate the beguiling and bewildering wonder that can be Africa." Full article on this link: Warm Heart of Malawi; Africa's Imperfect Charm

Contact Us

Mumbo Island and Domwe Island in February 2012 Getaway Magazine!

We are so excited to find our islands featured in two double page spreads in the latest Getaway Magazine. What a well-written article with great pictures of Malawi in general and Mumbo and Domwe Islands in particular.

More...Contact Us

Mumbo is one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World! 2011

Mumbo Island Camp in Malawi was recently chosen as one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World in the United Kingdom’s Sunday Times Travel Magazine. Mumbo Island is an exclusive island camp on an uninhabited island that forms part of the Lake Malawi National Park. It has been owned and operated by Kayak Africa since the company was first awarded the concession to the island in 1996. Mumbo was one of only seven hotels chosen from Africa.

More...Contact Us

Mumbo Cover Story in November 2012 issue of SA Country Life

We were delighted to discover our island on the front cover of the latest issue of SA Country Life this month! The photograph shows Mumbo Island’s jetty with our island ferry about to arrive. The story, written by well-known travel feature writer, Dale Morris, recommends a sojourn on Mumbo to recover from the exhaustion of all the early mornings and driving of the typical African safari - and he is quite right! In his words; “Mumbo Island, my chill-out destination for the next few days, is probably the nicest of the many islands dotted across Lake Malawi, and is certainly the most romantic by far…. Next time I’ll be sure to bring my wife…”
As we are so fond of saying on the island, “It’s not heart-shaped for nothing!”

Contact Us

May 2011, TNT magazine, Eco-travel in Malawi

... we run aground on the sand that fringes Lake Malawi’s Mumbo Island and sink toes into what’s best described as a sub-Saharan Eden. Shaded only by ancient fig and baobab trees, Mumbo remains uninhabited save for a community-run eco-camp of seven chic tents complete with solar-power bucket showers, wind-up torches and compost drop loos.
... the tents are built into a second, smaller bouldered outcrop that’s joined to the main island via a twinkling walkway of solar powered fairy lights – the principal form of energy on the island.
Mumbo, I discover, is about unplugging yourself from the everyday.

More...Contact Us

Mumbo Island in SA ELLE DECO's December 2011 issue

Mumbo Island featured in a gorgeous photographic essay by talented photographer Adriaan Louw in ELLE DECO South Africa's December 2011 issue.
Click on "More" to see the other pics.

More...Contact Us

On the Trail of Madonna, by Simon Busch, MSN Travel, Sept 2010

It isn't only aging pop stars who should get to know poor but beautiful Malawi, says this journalist.
"The only signs of habitation among the ancient fig and baobab trees that carpet the tiny circle of land an hour or so by boat from the Malawian mainland are the neat, temporary tented platforms erected at vantage points to house the 14 or so guests allowed on Mumbo at any one time. You eat fish from the lake and then retire to one of these barely-there eyries to watch the setting sun coat the lake in gold and blood." Full text below... or on: On The Trail of Madonna

More...Contact Us

Island Hopping on Malawi's Lake of Stars, by Sarah Isaacs

"...The beauty of Mumbo is the mix of activity and relaxation. We were only there for two nights and we had enough time to walk every trail, kayak around the island, snorkel, lounge, read, drink and snooze without ever feeling rushed. You can sit for hours on a rock, captivated by cormorants drying their wings or king fishers displaying their royalty. You can just as easily kayak out to meet fishermen in their makoros or jump repetitively off a fifteen-meter high boulder. Whatever your preference, you won’t want to be anywhere else..."
Read the whole text on More.. or on Island Hopping on the Lake of Stars

More...Contact Us

The Times, London, July 2009

"...If Likoma seemed like heaven then Mumbo (a finalist in Times Travel’s Green Spaces awards last year) takes you even farther into a state of bliss. It’s important to know that the resort, unlike so many, pays more than lip service to eco-credentials — long-drop loos and no electricity are only the start.
Accommodation is in luxurious safari-style tents set on headlands looking over the water. Bathrooms have bucket showers and biodegradable soap and shampoo.


More...Contact Us

The Times Green Spaces Awards

Mumbo Island was a Category finalist 2008: Best Place to Stay (Worldwide), in the Times, Green Spaces Awards. Toby Sawday, the judge who visited the island had this to say...

What's it like? "I really enjoyed this place - it's utterly tranquil, and manages to balance indulgence with informality. I could spend a week here - reading, pottering about in kayaks and playing chess. The island has it's own little cove and the water is sweet and fresh!"

Significant environmental achievement? "An entirely off-grid camp that's almost 100% free from fossil fuels."

His full article follows:

More...Contact Us

Getaway Magazine, Evan Hausman, December 2009

..."A five-kilometre paddle northwards landed me on a bleached white beach on the rock-strewn shores of Domwe. Neat safari tents were concealed in the lush bush beyond the shore. Each had its own deck and hammock with views of Mumbo Island to the west – perfect for sundowners. There was no electricity, unless you count the solar panels powering the two-way radios. (Full text follows)

More...Contact Us

Africa Bespoke Blog, Susie Vester, 2009

This is one of those places where you think, ‘This is so beautiful, I have got to share it with everyone I know so that they can experience this; but then, if I tell everyone about this, it won’t be my little secret anymore, and so maybe I should not tell anyone and keep it all to myself, for myself…’. Kind of like the last Rolo in the pack. Its so good you don’t want to share it, but you really want someone else to taste it so that they can also enjoy how good it is! ...

I’ve traveled extensively around the world and within Africa, and its funny how I always end up forgetting how intense Africa’s beauty really is in comparison with some of the incredible places I have traveled to overseas. Africa’s beauty is in its rawness, its smell, its taste. And magical Mumbo offers all of that in abundance.

More...Contact Us

Sainte Verde Blog, Neville Trickett, Dec 2009

"Over the years we have been to Bon Bon Island off the coast of Gabon, the Seychelles, Bazaruto in Mozambique, Mauritius, Maldives, and too many coastal resorts to mention. Not one of them come close to Mumbo Island in Lake Malawi! It's insane beauty wherever you look. What my flickr set doesn't tell you is how cool the people treat you, not too in your face or fussy, just there to look after you whenever you need it. If you visit Kayak Africa's website it will give you the low down, but take it from me - whatever they say, it's better." (from Neville Trickett's Dec09 blog )

More...Contact Us